Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

Word of the Day July 21, 2008

Filed under: Word of the Day — Messie Jessie @ 1:34 pm

Accoutrements:

 

 

1. Something that is not necessary in itself but adds to the convenience or performance of the main piece of equipment

 

2. Items needed for the performance of a task or activity

 

 

How I observed this word:

I was waiting in line at the grocery store scrutinizing the contents of my purchase, and I couldn’t help but notice the guy behind me had strawberries too. To pass time, I initiated small talk with him about how good a deal they were, being “buy one get one free” and all. I told him how I saw them and thought that in this weather some strawberry shortcake would be a delicious “heat wave” meal. He scanned over my items on the belt and stated, “Yes, I can see you have all the accoutrements to make it”.

 

Leave a Reply

