Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

Blast from my past July 28, 2008

Filed under: All about me — Messie Jessie @ 7:54 pm

There are a million other things I feel like I should be doing right now, but I’m not. I’m sitting here writing. And you know why? Because it feels good, that’s why…

This weekend felt like something out of a movie; it was all so weird and surreal. I had the pleasure of attending my 10-year high school reunion. I will spare you all the details, but needless to say, it was quite awkward initially. Three of us met up at my house before hand and it was there I said to my cousin (with whom I graduated and has been my best friend since we were embryos), “I’m going into this with a light heart and an open mind”. We arrived, and as we walked through the door and I saw all those familiar yet changed faces I turned to her and said, “I changed my mind, can we just go home now?” After we all had dinner and several drinks, the mood changed, people mingled, and I have to say it was a great time. Then of course, there was the after party with more familiar faces… and more drinks.

I wanted to point out two interesting highlights during the reunion evening.

One of the people I saw there was an old friend that I had almost –but not quite- forgotten about. He and I had made a pact when we were in school that if neither of us were married by the time we were 26, we would marry each other. I got the gist that he did not remember this pact. Well, this lady here is still not married (and completely ok with that, might I add), and he was married in 2004 and is the proud father of two children. Good for him.

I didn’t expect him to be there, but I had hoped that he would be. I had always liked the guy. He is good people. During our conversation he turns to me and asks, “Do you remember the movie She’s All That?”

I said that I did, and it’s actually a guilty pleasure of mine to watch teeny-bopper movies. I could list them for days. He by-passed my side comment and says, “well you remind me of the main girl. You know, the one that was all artsy and dressed geeky but then when she changed her style she was the girl that all the guys wanted to be with? Well, that’s you, now”.

Admittedly, my first reaction in my head was “I wasn’t that geeky”. But since then I have thought about it and… well, yeah, I probably was. Anywho, I realized that this was a compliment, and thanked him for it. As time has passed now, I realize what a great compliment that was. So, thanks man. You still rock!

Yeah, I can see the resemblance

Yeah, I can see the resemblance

The second noteworthy conversation occurred much later in the evening, after several more drinks. I was at the house party and one of the guys that I still keep in touch with came. We had decided that the both of us needed to “hide out” for a little while, but still remain at the party. We figured the best way to do this was to put on our sunglasses. That way we could see everyone else, but they couldn’t see us… or at least it made sense in our heads. In retrospect, I think it just drew more attention to us. I can’t tell you how many times I heard someone sing, “I wear my sunglasses at night”.

We walked to his car so he could get his aviators, while I rocked my fabulous and funky moth-eye shades. We got caught up in a conversation while at the car, and so decided to stand in the pitch dark of a country night, wearing our shades, and talk about what else… relationships- ugh. I know his situation and he knows mine, so it’s not like we had to play any real catch up on this matter. We both bitched about love, the complication of break ups and broken hearts, and how we just feel like maybe it’s all just not even worth it. Of course later we retracted these statements, or at least he did. I revealed some secrets that only make their way out of the Vault-O-Jess on late night, intoxicated occasions such as this. He was sympathetic and empathized. He is also good people.

After I removed my shell and bared my broken little spirit to him (no crying though, which is a plus), he said to me, “But Jess, you are a good soul. You deserve to be with someone who recognizes that and treats you like you ought to be treated. Don’t let anyone take anything from you. Most people would die to have an opportunity to be with you. And as far as that guy, it’s ok to say you love him, but you need to love him enough to let him go.”

I was quiet, bowed my head and said only, “yeah”. Then I turned to him, gave him a huge hug and thanked him for telling it to me like it is. Sometimes we all need to hear it. And Goddamn did he put it freakin’ eloquently.

So, that’s that for my high school reunion. There are some I hope to keep in touch with from now on, and there are others I won’t see for another 5 – 10 years. That’s ok, we all share one common bond:
“We are sexy, we are great,
We’re the class of ‘98”
Peace out fellow BHSers! It’s been a blast.

 

Leave a Reply

