Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

Word(s) of the Day & Fuzzy Memories October 13, 2008

Filed under: Word of the Day — Messie Jessie @ 12:47 pm
Tags: , ,

Captious

apt to notice and make much of trivial faults or defects; faultfinding; difficult to please.

-Fitted to harass, perplex, or insnare; insidious; troublesome

How I encountered this word:

Well, I have to admit, I can’t really remember the context in which this word was used when I first noticed it because at that time I had already enjoyed a few stiff cranberry & vodkas. I do remember asking about the meaning of this word, however. Several times, in fact… and probably in slurred sentances.

************************************************************************************************************

Capitulate

to agree or surrender according to arranged or proposed terms; to accept defeat; acquiesce

-to negotiate, bargain

-to divide into chapters, put under titles or headings

How I encountered this word:

Again, I cannot recollect the exact usage of this word, but this time not due to intoxication. It was 7am and I was drinking my coffee and staring at the TV, pretending to watch it. This happens every morning. I think I am watching GMA, until I try to remember what they were talking about within the first 10 mins of my wakeness and I seem to blank out. On this occasion, I remember they were talking about the election and someone, somewhere, had something to do with capitulation. Who and to which definition they were referring I cannot say. I just know I liked the word and jotted it down. Good thing; otherwise, that probably would have escaped me to.

 

One Response to “Word(s) of the Day & Fuzzy Memories”

  1. Melissa Says:

    MUSICAL TISSUES, LOL


Leave a Reply

