Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

Phillies Phever! October 31, 2008

Filed under: All about me,Simple Pleasures — Messie Jessie @ 10:50 pm
Tags: , , ,

So, unless you’ve been living under a rock somewhere, you may have heard a little something about the Phillies winning the World Series.

I come from a small town in rural PA, where there are no major sports teams. I never had the “home team” spirit until I came to Philadelphia. Since moving here a few years ago, I have become a phan of Philly teams, particualrly the Eagles. There are no fans in the world like Philly phans. We love our teams when they are doing well, we love to hate our teams when they are not; but overall, we are the most loyal and enthusiastic phans out there. Philly phans are notorious across the country.  

I should note that there is a down side to being a Philly team fan. They have a tendency to disappoint. It’s been 25 years since ANY Philly team brought home a championship, and it was the Sixers. Last time the Phillies won the World Series was 1980. The Eagles have never won the Superbowl. I know nothing about the Flyers… or Philadelphia Soul, but I can imagine it’s the same.

I’m not huge into baseball, and I’ve never been hardcore for the Phillies, but when whispers that they might actually make it to the World Series started to circulate, I became intrigued. The culmination was Wednesday night, watching the final pitch and Brad Lidge drop to his knees on the mound- and the instantaneous cheering as people poured from their homes and the bars into the streets to celebrate with one another.

The city has been alive since. And I have documented it all on my cell phone.

Here are some shots from the night they won, where people all made their way to Broad Street. It was madness and it was chaos. Open container laws did not exist, and the many police present were there merely to make sure that traffic could still get through. I apologize for the poor quality of these photos.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I took a few really awesome video clips, but for some reason I can’t load them on the page here. If I figure it out I’ll be sure to edit this post.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today we had the official parade. It started at City Hall, and it made it’s way down Broad to the stadiums. I am lucky to work right off Broad, and got to sneak away to watch the parade.

I would like to note, that today is also Halloween. The Phillies’ win usurped Halloween. Personally, between work related stress, Obama campaign work and the World Series, I have totally forgotten today was Halloween. In fact, a few times I saw people dressed up and thought it was because they were that amped up about the Phils. When I saw someone dressed as a witch, I realized, “Oh yeah- today is Halloween!”

Anyway, here’s some pics from the parade:

 

Crowd shot, northbound

Crowd shot, northbound

 

Crowd shot, southbound

Crowd shot, southbound

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Phil's themselves!

The Phil's themselves!

 

I thought he was dressed up for the Phillies

I thought he was dressed up for the Phillies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Phillies Phanatic, mascot

Phillies Phanatic, mascot

 

World Series trophy

World Series trophy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go Eagles!…. Er, uh, I mean Go Phillies!

 

Leave a Reply

