Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

GOTV Day 1 November 2, 2008

Filed under: Working hard or hardly working — Messie Jessie @ 8:42 am
Tags: , , ,

Saturday, Nov 1st

GOTV = “Get Out The Vote”

It was a great day. We had a huge volunteer turnout, and we accomplished incredible things! I was in charge of overseeing the canvassing operations, and we had over 200 volunteers come in to knock on doors! It was a busy, busy day and I was exhausted, but it was all worth it.

Some highlights:

-From our 326 South St location alone we knocked on over 6,600 doors, and talked to over 2,700 voters.

-Our leadership team runs like a well oiled machine, and we are pure efficiency.

-A volunteer overheard me say I had all I had eaten as of 6pm was a granola bar and a soft pretzel (it was that busy). He offered to go out and get me dinner. When he came back he said “Don’t worry about giving me any money, just get this guy in office”. I cannot thank him enough!

-After I got home I got a random phone call from a number I didn’t recognize. Turns out Obama himself wanted to call the top volunteers around the country (all 20,000 of us) to thank us personally for our hard work. It was a live call, and I can now officially say Barack called me on my phone! 

Here’s some shots from our first day of GOTV. If this looks like fun (which it is), come down to 326 South Street and join us!

 

Allegra, Yvonne and Tim (training canvassers)

Allegra, Yvonne and Tim (training canvassers)

 

We consider this "down time"

We consider this "down time"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caleb talking shop with vols

Caleb talking shop with vols

 

Talia grubbin' real quick

Talia grubbin' real quick

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jason organizing walk lists

Jason organizing walk lists

 

Phone Bankers

Phone Bankers

 

Leave a Reply

