Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

GOTV day 3 *UPDATED* November 4, 2008

Filed under: Working hard or hardly working — Messie Jessie @ 1:40 am
Tags: , , , ,

Monday, Nov 3

Tonite I am a woman of few words. It is nearing 2am and I just got home from volunteering. I have to be back at the 326 South St location at 5:30am. And it’s gonna be a crazy busy day.

I have pics from today, and some funny stories to tell, but this is not the time to post. This is the time to rest… and yet, here I am internetting.

600,000 democratic votes in Philadelphia and all of PA goes blue.

This is it people. This is the day we have been waiting for.

Get out and VOTE.

***********************************************************************************************************

It is now several days later, but I wanted to make note of GOTV Day 3, and post some photos.

This was a pretty slow day, as we basically accomplished everything we had to do the day previous. We were that on top of our ish. I had a work training I couldn’t get out of, and was there for a good chunk of the day, but came over immediately after to pitch in where I could. When I got to 326 South St things were pretty chill, so I whipped out ol’ Maggie-Mac and Tim & I spent the rest of the evening internetting and looking up election stats.

Around 10pm we started gearing up for the big day (Election Day), so the 7 of us went out for a bite to eat before heading down to the 1501 Christian St South Philly HQ to get things in order for the next morning. When we got there they sent us down to the basement to help other wards get their door hangers in organized. The basement was so dirty and cold and we felt completely secluded, so I started calling it the Concentration Camp. At 1am the Ward 1 & 2ers decided our anticipated three hours of sleep this nite were more important than making keepsakes for voters and volunteers, and we slyly peaced out before anyone noticed.

Here are some photos:

 

Checking poll stats

Election Day Eve entertainment

 

Jason didn't want this documented, but I couldn't help myself

Jason didn't want this documented, but I couldn't help myself

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This time we came prepared for the deadly door hangers

This time we came prepared for the deadly door hangers

 

Who are those pretty ladies? Why, it's Leslie, Sula & me!

Who are those pretty ladies? Why, it's Leslie, Sula & me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All ready for the big day

All ready for the big day

 

This picture says a thousand words; and so does Sarah's face

Concentration Camp: This picture says a thousand words; and so does Sarah's face

 

2 Responses to “GOTV day 3 *UPDATED*”

  1. Uncle Bob Says:

    Just to let you know about tomorrows nightmare. When President Carter (we will call him Mr. Peanut) disinterestedly ran the country. It lead the way to Ronald Regan – The Guy who spent Trillions on “StarWars” and his version never hit the big screen, He decertifyed PATCO. and became the workings man/womens worst nightmare. If Oboma placates true idelic liberalities We will be doomed in 4 years when he is followed by an ultra conservatism monster. Thats why this was a reason why McCain was our best option.

  2. To note: This comment by my uncle has been waiting for approval for some time now and I had been mulling over if I should allow it or not. I have come to the conclusion that it is my duty to allow this comment, if for no other reason than bipartisan egalitarianism.

    I am reminded of a line from a Modest Mouse song (Out of Gas): “Opinions were like kittens, I was giving them away”.

    Last word- OBAMA!


Leave a Reply

