Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

Election Day– Yes We Did!!! November 9, 2008

Filed under: Working hard or hardly working — Messie Jessie @ 10:44 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Tuesday, Nov 4

This day began as one of the earliest days I can remember in a long time. I had to force myself off the couch, and downed as much coffee as I possibly could before rushing out the door before the sun had even started peeking over the horizon. The city streets had an eerie quietness to them as I biked up Passyunk. It was most certainly the calm before the storm.

There is so much I could say about this day, but I think the best word to sum it all up was “busy”. From 5:30am when I arrived, until the polls closed at 8pm it was non-stop. I came into contact with literally thousands of people, and my voice was hoarse for two days afterward from talking so much. And if you know me, I talk nearly constantly anyway, so that tells you something about how busy it was. 

There are no photos that can aptly demonstrate the energy that day. I was moved by the number of people who came out to pitch in, how ever they could. Some made calls, some knocked on doors, some brought us food, and some just put smiles on our weary faces. We came together for one common purpose, and all 700+ of us gave it everything we had. I am thankful for everyone I came into contact with that day. From the 15 year old girl who came down from NYC with her family and chatted with me while I collected canvassers’ walk packets, to my retirement age neighbor, Gerry, who did as many walk routes as he could manage, to everyone in between- everyone was amazing. They all had their own story, and they all had something unique to contribute towards our collaborative effort. People thanked me for working so hard over the last days, but it was I who insisted the thanks was due to them, for without them none of this would have been possible. My role was to merely support, direct and organize their efforts.

When the results started coming in… well, there are just no words to express the jubilation we all felt. Everything we had worked so hard for was becoming real, and by 10:30pm Barack Obama was announced the 44th president of the United States of America.

By this time we had all congregated to the 1501 Christian St HQ, so everyone who worked out of South Philly could celebrate together. We had been a motley crew from the start, but we ended as one. That night we shared tears, drinks, embraces and a joyous spirit of a job well done.

When I returned to my real job 2 days later some people asked me, “How was your vacation”? I laughed and said it was the furthest thing from a vacation, but I had a great time.

Without further ado, here is my pictorial election day coverage:

 

Phone Bank madness

Phone Bank madness

 

A meeting of the minds

A meeting of the minds

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My vote!

My vote counted!

 

A Caleb in a box

A Caleb in a box

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

30pm- Gathering the troops for the final push

5:30pm- Gathering the troops for the final push

 

Anxiously awaiting results

Anxiously awaiting results

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The wreckage of chaos

The wreckage of chaos

 

Let the celebration begin!

Let the celebration begin! 1501 Christian

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

McCain's concession speech

McCain's concession speech

 

Obama wins!

Obama wins!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cheer's to a job well done

Cheers to a job well done

 

2 Responses to “Election Day– Yes We Did!!!”

  1. James Says:

    Yes We Did! Yes We Did! Yes We Did!

  2. Melissa Says:

    I can honestly say I am proud to be an American, I never understood what that ment. We have a long and bumpy road ahead of us but at least we have UNITY!


Leave a Reply

