Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

Miss Pronunciation January 16, 2009

 

Shout out to my new Photoshop

Shout out to my new Photoshop

You know that clear, plastic stuff that you wrap around foods to keep them fresher (and that generally gets all caught on itself and ends up being more hassle than it’s worth)? What’s that called?

Cellophane. 

Well, when I was a kid, I always pronounced it cellophame. I even thought that was how it was spelled. To this day, I make a conscious effort to say it correctly.

I’m fairly confident that that happens to all of us at some point in our youth. But how often does it occur in adulthood? By the time you reach a certain age, pending a relatively normal IQ and upbringing, you should have pretty much mastered the English language.

Well, just a moment ago, as I was researching something on the internet, I came across a word: effervescent- meaning bubbly and fizzy; its the stuff those Alka-Seltzer commercials talk about. Now, I’ve most certainly used this word in my life, and more certainly, I’ve seen this word in print before. So why is it that not until this moment has it occurred to me that I have been pronouncing this word wrong my entire life? 

I’ve been saying eppervescent all this time. How embarrassing.

 

Leave a Reply

