Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

Word of the day May 2, 2009

Filed under: Word of the Day — Messie Jessie @ 9:46 am
Tags: , ,

Plural 

  • The form of a word that is used to denote more than one member, set or kind

How I encountered this word:

Ok so, I know we all know the meaning of the word “plural” (or at least I would hope so), but just now I was immersed in some deep thought about how the word “folk” is plural, which means that the word “folks” is a plural of a plural. As I was spiraling into the mental abyss of  compounding pluralism -not unlike contemplating the infinity of the universe- I thought to myself, “wow, plural is a really weird word”. I know we’ve all had that same experience, where you say/read a word over and over and it starts to sound funny and almost foreign.

Just thought I would share this morning’s deep thoughts.

 

One Response to “Word of the day”

  1. Momma G Says:

    Its like “vacuum.” Repeat it often enough and you’ll be in one.


Leave a Reply

