Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

Word of the Day June 11, 2011

Filed under: Word of the Day — Messie Jessie @ 10:55 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Trash Tiara

  • Trash: discarded matter; refuse
  • Tiara: An ornamental band worn in a woman’s hair

How I encountered this word:

Taking Sadie for her morning walk today, we came across a pink, bow hair clip abandoned on the sidewalk. I stopped, picked it up and clipped it to the fur on top of her neck as we continued our walk.

I couldn’t help but giggle as Sadie, completely unaware, donned the clip. We passed a popular neighborhood coffee shop and a guy who was sitting at a table outside (and looking as though he may have been a tad drunk from the night before) beckoned Sadie to come over for a little puppy lovin’.

As he began to scratch her neck I said, laughing, “You’ll have to excuse the bow in her fur.”

Guy asked, “What’s that about?”

I responded, “We were walking and I found it on the ground. I picked it up and stuck it on her.”

Guy, turning back to Sadie and scratching the sweet spot behind her ears, said, “Awww, mommy made you wear a trash tiara.”

 

3 Responses to “Word of the Day”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    She makes a lovely trashy princess 🙂

  2. Aunt Cinny Says:

    Awwwww. Poor Sadie!

  3. Tiffany Says:

    Super cute post, BUT…

    (a) The dog lover in me is feeling the pangs of Sadie’s, well, pain. But don’t worry, I’ve been known to dress my Pit Bull in a bumble bee costume, as well as put her in a Snuggie for Dogs. Yeah, you heard me–they actually sell these. They keep her warm in the winter snow/wind. It’s just part of being a proud and caring Mom, in my estimation… 😉

    (b) Some of my obsessive-compulsive tendencies are a bit frazzled after reading about you picking up an object off the street. 🙂

    P.S. Our dogs could be cousins. They look just alike, but my Amy is mostly black, with a little bit of white.


Leave a Reply

