Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

BLOGCAST! How Long Does It Take Two 30-Somethings To…? November 22, 2011

We’ll get back around to the title line in a moment, folks. Stick with me.

*

Kids are pretty neat. I’m not one of those people who proclaim, “I love kids!”, but I do think they’re fun to hang out with. I get kids; I really understand them, you know? I relate to them. In fact, as cliche as it is, I think I relate to kids better than I relate to most grown-ups.

And when kids ask me if I want to play with them I’m all, “heck yes I want to play!”, then kick off my shoes and get right down in the trenches of the sandbox along side them. Playing is way more fun than doing grown-up stuff like paying bills and discussing the decline of the housing market. And when us kids get in trouble for doing something we shouldn’t have done? Yeah, I’m usually the one who started it.

So when my friend who was born abroad and lives abroad told me they didn’t know what Silly Bandz were because they don’t exist in that particular far off land, I was all like, “OMG, I’m toooootally getting some and mailing them to your kids. This is so awesome. I can’t wait.”

And that’s just what I did.

In this particular far off land, English is not the native language. However, just as any other intelligent country who gives a crap about their youth ought to, they start teaching foreign languages to kids pretty early on (eh-hem, United States). So one day when my friend’s 12-year-old daughter read a story to me in English via Skype, I was totally impressed and told her so. In English.

This gave me an idea. I thought, “how cool would it be if I asked her to be my pen pal? Not only would this be super fun (for the both of us, honestly), but what a better way for her to practice English?” I decided that when I sent the package I was going to include a special note, just for her, asking she write me back.

In this special note I said that our correspondence could be like passing notes in school, only from super far away. And to add to the sheer awesomeness of this proposal, I decided to fold the note up like we all used to fold notes in high school. Completely amazing and ingenious idea, right? Thanks, I know.

One problem: I couldn’t remember how to fold the dang note. I even Googled that junk and I still couldn’t figure it out. Twenty years out of practice tends to do that to a person, I suppose. Feeling thwarted (and old) I put the note aside, hoping I’d suddenly have a flash of memory and magically be able to fold it as if no time had passed. Well, that didn’t happen.

Later that same day a friend of mine just so happened to drop by for a Sunday visit. Totally proud of myself for coming up with this stellar idea, I gave her a tour of the package I was sending. Then I showed her the note and asked if she could remember how to fold them. She wasn’t sure if she did, but was feeling ambitious and gave it a shot. After about 10 frustrating minutes of unsuccessful attempts (and maybe a few curse words), I knew exactly what needed to be done: I grabbed my video camera and hit record.

The rest of this story is documented below.

Note: I showed this video to a colleague and they told me it must have been one of those “you had to be there” events. Whatever. You made it this far into the post and we both know you are going to watch the video regardless, so just get it over with and hit that darn play button. You can chastise me for sharing this video after you’ve watched it. It’s only 3 minutes of your life, anyway.

*

*

If you love this super, amazing idea as much as I do: Rate, Comment, Subscribe, Share!

P.S. Shout out to Paul Rice for subscribing! Check out his blog to learn more about him: http://gettingwellforthefirsttime.wordpress.com/

 

3 Responses to “BLOGCAST! How Long Does It Take Two 30-Somethings To…?”

  1. Paul Rice Says:

    You are so, so funny! I was laughing and waking up the neighbors even before the video started!

  2. Niels Says:

    My doughter says that she was only 11 when she read the story to you.. hahahaha 🙂

  3. I stand corrected, Niels. Either way, I was still really impressed. And your “thank you” phone call made my day!! (P.S. She should totally write me back!!!!!)


Leave a Reply

