Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

A Letter to the IRS December 9, 2011

Dear Internal Revenue Service,

Thank you for your letter yesterday notifying me that, according to your records, I am in debt to you in the amount of $846.00 for the year 2010.

Also, thank you for advising me that if you do not receive my payment in full by January 4th, 2012 (which is less than a month from today and includes holidays in which the federal postal service is closed) I will owe you an additional $20 for my late payment. I am aware that resolving financial matters prior to established deadlines is of top priority for the US government, especially when it pertains to significant amounts of dollars. To me, $846.00 is certainly a significant amount of dollars and therefore I understand the urgency of this matter.

Enclosed you will find copies of my own federal documentation records, which support my claim that your information pertaining to my 2010 taxable income is incorrect and hence I owe you no further monies at this time.

Correct or incorrect information aside, don’t you think we could have just called it even after my fiscal contribution to the $300 billion in taxpayer bailouts back in 2008?

Best,

Dutiful Taxpayer

P.S. No, I don’t mind putting my own stamp on the envelope on which you mandated an immediate response.

 

6 Responses to “A Letter to the IRS”

  1. I’ll guess that what you sent them was a copy of information they already have, and they would not have sent the nasty correspondence if someone had actually read it. Here’s some Dave Barry that might help: http://blogs.herald.com/dave_barrys_blog/

  2. Adam Taylor Says:

    Don’t forget your portion of the 7.7 TRILLION the Federal Reserve gave to those banks…

  3. Peter Says:

    Sorry, but I couldn’t help but to think of your pet peeves column when I read this post.

    http://public.wsu.edu/~brians/errors/amount.html

  4. PETER– I don’t know you, but I love you! You have no idea how much the mere fact that you made a point to come back and comment made my day. I’m honored (which is not the same as humbled) that my post stuck with you after all this time. Thank you!

  5. PETER– I don’t know you, but I love you! You have no idea how much the mere fact that you made a point to come back and comment made my day. I’m honored (which is not the same as humbled) that my post stuck with you after all this time. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

