Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

Mind Games- Come play with me! December 8, 2008

There are two things about me that I feel are fairly evident once you get to know me.

1. I’m pretty dorky

2. I’m constantly thinking about 8 things at once.

So what do these two things have to do with the price of rice in China, you ask? Well, I have this little game that I like to play with myself; it doesn’t have a name, but it’s easy to play… you just have to put on your thinking caps. 

So here’s what you do: Think of an everyday product that while it has a generic name, it is more commonly known by it’s brand name.

Here’s a few examples:

Kleenex– facial tissues

Windex– window and/or hard surface cleaner

Vaseline– petroleum jelly

Band Aid– adhesive bandage

Aspirin/Motrin/Tylenol- Acetylsalicylic acid tablets/Ibuprofen/Acetaminophen

Q-Tip – cotton swab

And that’s just naming a few. I have thought of tons of these, and my pride wants to list them all, but that would ruin the fun. Instead, I want to see just how many you all out there can think of! And there are some really good ones out there. Ones you never even realized were actual brand names. 

And please- NO CHEATING! I’m not the first to play this “game”, and there are plenty of web sites out there with lots of answers nicely laid out for you, but what’s the fun in that?? Trust me, you’ll feel a whole heck of a lot of more observant once you start. In fact, you won’t be able to stop thinking about it each time you encounter a brand name product. You’ll be on the lookout for these things everywhere. It can become a sickness it you aren’t careful.

So what are you waiting for? Hit the Reply button and lay ’em on me!

 

2 Responses to “Mind Games- Come play with me!”

  1. Come on, people! I can see you looking… Don’t you want to play?

    Here’s another to get the ball rolling:
    Chapstick- lip balm

  2. James Says:

    Xerox – Copy
    Coke – Cola
    Prozac – Fluoxetine (though medications are kind of cheap)
    Zippo – Butane Lighter


Leave a comment