Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life

The Misadventures of Messie Jessie

The measure of success March 5, 2009

Filed under: Life's Little Lessons — Messie Jessie @ 10:24 pm
Tags: , , , ,

*Update* I got permission from the artist to post the song, but it seems as if it’s more trouble than it’s worth to post an mp3 file to the blog. Welcome to my world…. So, if I miraculously find a relatively painless method of posting mp3’s I will certainly do so. Otherwise, you can do the following: go to www.kevinandersonstylee.com –> click to enter –> “music” tab –> on the player to the right, click on One Of These Days. Enjoy!

I recently stumbled across a recording of a song that I wrote the lyrics to, while living in Costa Rica. I am currently awaiting permission from the rightful owner of the song to post it on this blog, and will update when I receive a response.

The lyrics of the song basically speak of how we always say we want to do all these grand things, but can’t at this time for whatever our reasons. Bills, job, obligations, etc, etc. It goes on to say that we do plan on doing these things, but only when things are better suited to allow for such luxuries. It also speaks to achieving what we really want out of life instead of what we want other people to see, and what we are told that we are supposed to want.

The hook goes as follows: “One of these days/ When I’m doing just fine/ Livin’ life divine/ Maybe then I’ll find the time for it”. Basically, “when the timing is right, then I’ll do all those things I always wanted to do”.

I listened to the song several times, reflecting on the lyrics I had penned, and pondering upon how the meaning to me had changed since when I wrote it. 

You see, if I were to stand in my shoes from almost exactly a year ago today, I would think that where I am today is exactly where I always wanted to be. I am truly “living life divine”. And in many ways, I still think this is true. But at the same time, my perspective has changed, and with it my goals. Standing in my shoes of today, I can see where I still want to move forward, and where I want to make changes in my life.

This leaves me to ask: Will we ever feel like we have fully succeeded? Intrinsically, will we ever be satisfied? Or do we just continue to strive for more and more without enjoying life for the moment?

And further: Is it possible to teeter the line of contentedness without falling into complacency? 

And to make this all come full circle: Will the time ever seem right to venture into all the grand things that we have always dreamed of doing, or will there forever be another stumbling block we must surmount before we can set out upon our truest desires? Will the time ever be right?

I don’t pretend to have the answers to these questions, and in such, reader thoughts and responses are appreciated.

 

2 Responses to “The measure of success”

  1. Leo Says:

    “You cannot afford to wait for perfect conditions. Goal setting is often a matter of balancing timing against available resources. Opportunities are easily lost while waiting for perfect conditions.” -Gary Ryan Blair


Leave a comment